General structure

In addition to the classical figures of Director and Vicedirector, and the Executive board, the IBE count with the important managing structures of the Board of Trustees and the Scientific Advisory Board.

  • Board of Trustees

IBE main managing structure is the “Board of Trustees” composed by two representatives of both partner Institutions (CSIC-UPF)

Anton Bosch
Vicerector d'Economia i Projectes estratègics de la UPF
Luis Calvo
Coordinador Institucional del CSIC en Catalunya
Francesc Posas
Vicerector de Política Científica de la UPF
José Ramón Urquijo Goitia
Vicepresidente de Relaciones Institucionales y Organización del CSIC

  • Scientific Advisory Board (CEE)

The IBE Scientific Advisory Board (CEE) committee iscomposed by 6 scientific experts with International recognition in the Evolutionary Biology field. Its main task will be to help the IBE in the definition of new research lines and strategies and in the best ways to recruit talent and widen the scientific strength of the Institute.

Brian Charlesworth
Institute of Evolutionary Biology, University of Edinburgh
Anna Di Rienzo
University of Chicago
Gonzalo Giribet
Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University
Puri López-García
Université Paris-Sud/Paris-Saclay
Susanna Manrubia
Spanish National Centre for Biotechnology (CSIC)
Andrés Moya
Cavanilles Institute of Biodiversity and Evolutionary Biology, University of Valencia
Stuart Reynolds
University of Bath

  • Executive Board

The IBE Executive Board is composed at the moment by 7 members:

IBE Director:
Tomàs Marquès-Bonet

IBE Vicedirectors:
Elena Bosch
Iñaki Ruiz-Trillo

Current Members:
Jesús Gómez-Zurita (Coordinator of "Animal phylogeny and Systematics Program")
Elena Casacuberta (Coordinator of "Funtional Evolution in Insects Program")
Carles Lalueza-Fox (Coordinator of "Comparative and Computational Genomics")
Jaume Bertranpetit (Coordinator of "Population Genetics Program"
Ricard Solé (Coordinator of Complex Systems Program")

Manager and Board Secretary
Anna Pérez-Lezaun

  • Good practices and scientific integrity:

The IBE, as all other centers in PRBB has adhered to codes of good scientific practice which set out the norms and quality standards expected of a scientist today. In concrete: The Code of Good Scientific Practice of the PRBB, the Montreal statement and the Singapore statement. Furthermore, A cross-institute working group has been established to share learning and good practice in scientific integrity amongst the centres ( IBE Contacts: Jose Luis Maestro and Elena Bosch

  • IBE Student Group

The IBE Student Group is an organization formed by all PhD and Master students conducting research at IBE. It was created in 2012 to provide the IBE student community with a forum for students to share their experience and express their worries, and also to actively contribute to our doctoral training, and to ensure adequate working conditions for current and future students.

Our mission:

(i) Representation, to be a common voice for the student community;

(ii) Integration, by establishing active communication channels within the different areas of the institute and introducing new student to the institute, its members and its organization;

(iii) Participation, enhancing active participation in the institute's activities and taking part in some of the institute's decisions;

(iv) Education, by organizing courses, book/journal clubs, seminars, and symposia.

The IBE Student Group holds regular monthly meetings, and has two student representatives (elected annually, gender-balanced). IBE Student Group Representatives as of 2017: David López and Lara Rubio.


Scientific structure

The scientific structure of the IBE is composed by sixteen different groups under a single Department of Molecular Biodiversity and Evolution, and five Scientific Programmes: